Dr. Garibaldi O. Leonardo, DBA, SDCC Chairman was invited by Dr. Oscar Tayko of Cavite Farmers Feedmilling and Marketing Cooperative (CAFFMACO), Silang, Cavite as keynote speaker during its “Special Membership Meeting” on October 30, 2014.

      Dr. Leonardo's message was about members' active support in the coop through increased financial contributions or investments and patronizing the products and services of the organization. His speech in sharing knowledge of SDCC's experience in Cooperative Development was truly impressive and timely for CAFFMACO. The audience was receptive and absorptive.

      Dr. Oscar Tayko was more convinced that SDCC is no ordinary coop but a model for all coops. Dr. Perla Rizalina M. Tayko, Ph.D., wife of Dr. Oscar Tayko was very much impressed for the comprehensive, profound and succinct presentation. She's taking her hat off for what SDCC has achieved.

     Congratulations Dr. Garibaldi Leonardo for making SDCC proud!!! Maraming Salamat Po!



     The 12th National Cooperative Summit was held last October 16-18, 2014 at Waterfront Hotel, Lahug, Cebu City with the theme "COOPS 2020: RAISING THE BAR". The Summit was participated in by SDCC's Chairperson Garibaldi O. Leonardo, DBA, Vice-chairperson Elvira S. Dandan, Director Glenn C. Cruz, Director Renato G. Dela Cruz, Director Maria Nelia G. De Leon, Director Alma S. Ferreros, Director Felife L. Perida Jr., Director Engr., Raymond Joseph L. Salvador, Director Noel E. Sandil, MBM, MPA, Board Secreatry Nonila S. Santos, Treasurer Rosalina G. Sapungan and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Cielito L. Garrido, MBA. It was a 3-day event that revolved around the Global Cooperative Decade 2020.

     The cooperative movement is acknowledged internationally as the most effective and efficient type of organization preferred by the people in economic, social and environmental aspects that promotes participation, sustainability, identity, capital and legal framework.

     One of the highlights of the program was the giving of Bigay Pugay Award "Natatanging Lingkod ng Samahang Kooperatiba ng Pilipinas" to our beloved Mr. Herminio C. Hernandez, one of the founders of SDCC, Vice-Chairperson of Escuela De San Dionisio, Board Member of National Confederation of Cooperatives (NATCCO), and former President/General Manager of SDCC. He was honored by the Philippine Cooperative Center (PCC) together with other contributors to the Philippine Cooperative Movement, well known cooperative leaders and advocates like former Senator Agapito Aquino (National Cooperative Movement Service Cooperative and the Chairman Emeritus of the PCC), Felix Borja (Cooperative Union of the Philippines), retired Judge Esperanza Garcia (Cebu CFI Community Cooperative), former CDA Administrator Father Benedicto Jayoma (PFCCO National), first CDA Chairperson Edna Aberilla, Angel F. Echano (Basud Development Cooperative), Valentina S. Tomas (Nueva Vizcaya Alay Kapwa Multi-Purpose Cooperative), SMCC of the National Cooperative Movement Service Cooperative Fermin Gonzalez (CLIMBS), Bonifacio V. Borromeo (Maripipi Multi-Purpose Cooperative, Mother Leontina Castillo (Cooperative Education Development Center), Sister Marietta P. Demolino and Atty. Renato Fernandez.

Syndicate content