10TH National Cooperative Summit

"Towards a Shared Vision: : One Co-op Movement, One Vision, One Nation” was this year’s theme of the 10th National Cooperative Summit held last October 10-12, 2010 at the Araneta Coliseum which was hosted by the Local Government of Quezon City.

Former Senator, Agapito “Butz” Aquino, who is presently the Chairman of the Philippine Cooperative Center (PCC) and National Summit Committee, stressed in his inspirational talk that “ This Summit is the summit of all summits because it gives us a clear picture of where we want the cooperative movement to utilize the bottom-up approach.”

Highlights of the three-day celebration began on October 10, Day 1 – Sunday with solidarity messages from the following Government Officials : Speaker Feliciano R. Belmonte, Senate Chair on Cooperatives – Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri, House Chair on Cooperatives – Cong. Jose R. Ping-ay, and Cooperative Development Authority Chair, Lecira Juarez . Hon. Mayor Herbert Bautista inspired the participants with his welcome remarks, followed by the Keynote Speech of HIS EXCELLENCY PRESIDENT BENIGNO SIMEON C. AQUINO, III, PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES who was also the Inducting Officer of the PCC Board of Directors and Officers. There were also presentations by the different coop sectors and the launching of the NCM Mutual Fund of the Phils., Inc. On October 11, Day 2 , Mr. Romy Villamin of Institute of Cooperative Excellence had his lecture on “ADVOCACY AND TRAINING” followed by GOOD GOVERNANCE, RISK MANAGEMENT, SUCCESSION PLANNING by Mr. Edgar Comeros, International Consultant on Co-operatives. On October 12, the last day of the summit, the Motorcade and Cooplympics were held at the Araneta Coliseum and Amoranto Sports Complex.

Success of this summit was made possible thru the joint efforts of the Cooperative Development Authority (CDA), the Philippines Cooperative Center (PCC) and the Local Government of Quezon City.

The following SDCCC officers attended the event, viz:

1. Mrs. Elvira S. Dandan - Chairperson

2. Mrs. Evelyn R. Luching - Director

3. Mrs. Julieta F. Atienza - Director

4. Mr. Herminio C. Hernandez - Director

5. Mr. Apolonio M. Mendoza, Jr. - Director

6. Mrs. Laura D. Notarte - Direct or

7. Dr. Jerrilyn L. Pilar - Director

8. Dr. Garibaldi O. Leonardo - Treasurer

9. Mr. Damaso L. Cruz, Jr. - Chairman, Advisory Council

10.Ms. Cielito L. Garrido - General Manager